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Newer Players

Bidding Basics
Opener’s rebid after the opponents interfereBY LARRY COHEN

larryco.com

We’ve opened the bidding 
and received interference. 
Let’s break this down into 

several categories.

We open and LHO enters 
the auction
Part 1) Our partner responds

Let’s consider an auction such as 
1l–(Dbl)–1k–(Pass)–?

In this case, we completely ignore 
the double and make our rebid as if 
there had been no interference at all.

Next, what about something like 
1'–(1l)–1k– (Pass)–?

Again, we rebid as if the opponents 
had passed, but we do have a new 
bid available; a cuebid of their suit. 
For the purpose of this basic series, I 
suggest not using such a bid (only to 
confuse your partner). If you were to 
make such a bid, it surely wouldn’t be 
natural – it would have to show some 
big hand.

Part 2) Our partner passes
What if it goes 1l–(Dbl)–Pass–

(1k/1;)–?
Our partner doesn’t have much, so 

for us to take a second call, we would 
need a good reason. Don’t bid again 
with a minimum. Anything opener 
does here is natural but shows extra 
values. For example, after 1'–(Dbl)–
Pass–(1;), don’t rebid 1NT with a 
flat minimum; in fact, volunteering 
1NT here would actually show 18–19 
HCP! Don’t repeat your suit or bid a 
new suit unless you have a good hand 
(more than a minimum).

Let’s now consider this common 
auction: We open, LHO overcalls and 
it is passed back to us. For example, 
1l–(1k)–Pass–(Pass)–? In this case, 
partner is usually broke but occasion-
ally has what we call a “trap pass.” He 

wanted to double 1k for penalties but 
couldn’t because we use negative dou-
bles. Accordingly, it is our job to let 
partner convert his trap pass for pen-
alties. We double for takeout, and he 
would leave it in. The rule of thumb 
is that when opener has a singleton 
in the opponent’s suit, he “always” 
reopens with a double for takeout. So, 
on the auction above, opener would 
double with either of these hands: 
;A 7 6 2   k9   lA 8 6 4 2   'K J 9 

;K Q 9   k9   lK Q 7 6 5 2   'Q 10 4.
Note the quotes around “always.” I 

wouldn’t double (having no interest 
in defending) with something like: 
;4   k9   lA K Q J 10 6 3   'A 7 6 2.

I would cuebid 2k or jump to 3l.
If opener is void in their suit, he can 

double, but likely will end up on de-
fense with a void – so I would rather 
bid 2l on the auction above with: 
;K 7 4   k— lK Q 10 8 6 4 2   'K 6 3,
(no interest in defending). With a 
doubleton in their suit, opener can 
also reopen with a double, but might 
not do so with a dead minimum. Even 
if the opponents preempt, opener’s 
reopening double is takeout.

If the opponents both bid, double 
is still takeout. So, in either of these 
auctions, opener is short in their 
suit(s): 1l–(1k)–Pass–(2k); Dbl or 
1l–(1k)–Pass–(1;); Dbl.

RHO enters the auction
Part 1) Our partner has  
responded

We are considering something like 
1l–(Pass)–1k–(2'). Opener rebids 
pretty much as normal, but has a few 
other options such as:

Pass. Opener is no longer forced to 
bid and can pass with nothing special 
to say. Example: 
;A 7 6 2   kJ 9   lA Q J 9   'J 7 4.

Double. This is something you 
don’t want to try without partner-
ship agreement. Most experts use it 
conventionally to show three-card 
support, a so-called “support double.”

Cuebid. Another thing to avoid, 
unless you want to confuse your 
partner.

Part 2) Our partner has passed
We are considering 1l–(Pass)–

Pass–(1;)–?
This brings us back to earlier 

in this installment, where opener 
shouldn’t bid again unless he has 
extra values. Double would be for 
takeout of their suit. 1NT would show 
18–19 (with 12–14 balanced, opener 
passes). Example of a double: 
;9   kA Q 7 4   lA K 7 6 2   'A 7 4. 

Example of 1NT: 
;K Q 9   kK 2   lK Q 10 6 3   'A J 9.

Bidding Basics quiz on page 52



52 | Bridge Bulletin | October 2021

Bidding Basics Quiz

As opener, what is your call after 1'–
(1;)–1NT–(Pass)–?
1) ;9   kA Q 7 4   lK J 9   'K 10 7 6 2

2) ;9 2   kA 3   lQ 7 4   'K Q 9 8 7 4
As opener, what is your call after 1k–
(2l)–Pass–(Pass)–?
3) ;7 6 2   kK J 10 9 7 6 2   l—   'A Q J

4) ;A 6 3   kA Q 7 6 2   l9   'Q 10 7 4
As opener, what is your call after 1'–
(Dbl)–1;–(2l)–?
5) ;K 2   kK Q 7 4   lK 6 3   'Q 7 6 2

6) ;Q 10 7 4   k6 3   lA 7 4   'A Q 7 4
As opener, what is your call after 1l–
(Pass)–Pass–(1k)–?
7) ;K Q 10 8   k6 3   lA K Q 10 7 4   '5

8) ;A 10 6 3   k9   lA K 10 6 3   'A K 9

Bidding Basics Quiz Answers

1) Pass. Partner has spades stopped; 
no need to run from 1NT.
2) 2'. Long clubs and a minimum.
3) 2k. Yes, partner might be dying for 
a double, but this hand is all offense.
4) Double. Short diamonds mandate 
this action.
5) Pass. Nothing to say. Volunteering 
a bid here (other than a raise) would 
show extras.
6) 2;. Support with support (if using 
support doubles, this guarantees four 
spades).
7) 1;. Worth it. You wouldn’t do this 
with a flat minimum.
8) Double. The perfect hand for this 
(takeout, extras). 


