Newer Players

Bidding Basics

BY LARRY COHEN

larryco.com
ast month, we discussed how
I many high-card points were
needed for a negative double.
This month, we start to explore what
the double says about responder’s
distribution, namely what it shows in
the unbid suits. We will be discussing
only two auctions this month - both
of which have very specific require-
ments. These auctions will involve an
overcall of 1 or 1¥. Let’s start with
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The clubs and diamonds both
present temptations for an unwary
defender, but look what declarer can .
do if you play either at trick two. The
¢ Q will allow declarer to win the ace -
and eventually (after dealing with
trumps) lead a diamond to the king
and take a ruffing finesse against
your ¢J.

A club switch would allow declar-
er to play low and later finesse your
king.

The key to being a good defender
is to figure out how to avoid helping
declarer. A ruff and sluffcanbe a
disaster; however, a more common
defensive mistake is to break a new
suit. @

Of course, the opening bid was 1ée.
What would it mean if responder
didn’t make a negative double? What
if responder just brushed off the in-
terference and responded 1¥ or 1:

1h-(14)-1V

or

1 -(19)-14?

It is important to know that these
1¥ and 1M responses show exactly
the same thing had there been no
overcall. What would that be? The
way you learned it: four or more
cards in the suit and 6+ HCP. So, you
would respond 1¥ to 1¢k (with or
without the 14 overcall) with either
of these hands:

AA2 V¥Q1087 #Q32 MB765

AA2 VAQJ1082 €43 $AQ2.

Youwould respond 14 to 1¢k (with
or without a 14 overcall) with:

A10876 W2 €J32 SAQT765
or
AAK765 WA 46543 Q32

Make sure you completely digest
this concept, because it will be differ-
ent when the overcall is 1¥.

So, what (and why) would we use
anegative double for when there is
a 14 overcall? We can simply bid
afour-card major if we have one.
Accordingly, a negative double after
a 1¢ overcall guarantees both majors.
In stone. At least 4-4. So, after 1¢f
(1), double with:

AQ1087 VWKQ76 432 #J32
or
AAKQJ YAKI102 4€Q32 #65.

Partner will know he can bid
either major with four and it will be
an eight-card fit. (With 5-4 in the

majors, you can either double, or bid
the five-card suit — depending on
what you have in mind for later in

the auction.) Do not make a negative
double with only one four-card major.
With 4-3 in the majors (or 4-2 or 4-1
or 4-0), just respond in the four-card
major.

After a 19 overcall

This is a different animal. If re-
sponder bids 1M after a 19 overcall,
it promises five or more spades. With
only four spades, make a negative
double.

For example:

After 1¢-(19), with:

AQ7652 WA32 K32 32
bid 1. With:
AQ765 WA32 #K432 #32

make a negative double.

The negative double here says
nothing about the other suit (clubs
in the auction above). All it says is,
“Partner, I have enough to respond
and exactly four spades. I was dealt
nine other cards that are in the other
three suits.”

While these two (14 or 1% over-
call) negative doubles have strict
rules, all the other negative doubles
(covered in future months) don’t.
Before proceeding, make sure you
understand these two special situ-
ations inside and out. In my experi-
ence teaching and writing, it requires
study and more study and then needs
to be studied again.

February 2023 | Bridge Bulletin | 53



Newer Players

Quiz
What is your call after 1 —(14)
with:

) AA1087 YKQ2 486 #J765
() AA1087 YKQ32 486 #J76
E)AI543 ¥8765 #J32 Q2

DAQJI2 YQ102 #KJ2 #7654

What is your call after 1de—(19)
with:

) AKJIB876 WAQ43 4876 2

(D A10876 943 4J32 SAKQ2

What is your call after 1¢-(19)
with:

) AKB54 ¥2 #AQ872 SAJ2
() AJI87652 WAKQ 4#J432 &—

ANSWERS

€) 1M. This shows four or more
spades (double would show posses-
sion of four or more spades and four
or more hearts).

@ Double. Guaranteeing both majors.

) Pass. Not enough strength to
respond.

() INT. 6-10 balanced with their suit

stopped, typically no four-card major.

) 1M. Shows five or more spades
(and 6 or more points).

(9 Double. Shows exactly four spades
and any other nine cards (and 6 or
more points).

) Double. Same explanation as No. 6.

(©) 1A. Same explanation as No.5.@

Nffire adde accietant

OF THE
North (Dummy)
DIr:South # KQ83
Vul:Both 9853
IMPs ® 765
% Q84
South (You)
AMAATI542
vaQ
¢ AKJ
% A103
West North  East South
14
Pass 24 Pass 4H
All Pass

West leads the YA and YK, East
following. What’s your plan to guar-
antee the contract?
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